Volume: 2 Issue: 5 October 2, 2008 (Special Edition)

Consolidation Update

A newsletter tracking the progress of the consolidation between the Cuyahoga County Community Mental Health Board and the Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services Board of Cuyahoga County



Board Members Recommended

The Consolidated Board Member Selection Committee (CBMSC) has held several public meetings and presented its recommendation of board members for the consolidated board to the Consolidation Executive Steering Committee (ESC) on Monday, September 22, 2008. After lengthy discussion and debate, Kathryn Gambatese, as the presiding chair of the ESC, accepted the Committee recommendation and moved that it be sent to each of the boards for approval or rejection. The ESC members voted unanimously to forward the recommendation to the two boards— Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services Board of Cuyahoga County (ADASBCC) and the Cuyahoga County Community Mental Health Board (CCCMHB).

The intent of both boards from the onset of the consolidation process has been equity, i.e., nine current members from each board to serve on the new consolidated board, representing interest in

<u>Consolidation Update</u> is a joint publication developed and distributed by the communication staff of the Cuyahoga County Community Mental Health Board and the Alcohol & Drug Addiction Services Board of Cuyahoga County to keep the community informed on the consolidation process.

Consolidation Executive Steering Committee

Eugenia Cash, CCCMHB Board
Darlene Darby Baldwin, ADASBCC Board
Kathryn E. Gambatese, CCCMHB Chair
Mary McElrath, ADASBCC Chair
L. Douglas Lenkoski, M.D., CCCMHB
Gwendolyn Haywood, ADASBCC (Advisor)
Joan Leeb, CCCMHB (Advisor)

William M. Denihan, CCCMHB CEO Russell S. Kaye, Ph.D., ADASBCC Executive Director

Editors: Scott Osiecki, CCCMHB & Julie Fogel, ADASBCC

mental health or alcohol/other drug addictions. The selection process was thorough, especially considering time constraints, and resulted in only six of the current ADASBCC members able to go forward for selection, due to other members' conflict of interest or health issues. This created three open slots for the ADASBCC.

The full complement of board members available from the CCCMHB also was reduced by six potential candidates, either by resignation, not being reappointed, or choosing not to serve on the consolidated board.

During a membership committee meeting where four ADASBCC members and three CCCMHB members were present, it was recommended to include three CCCMHB members with interest in alcohol and other drug addiction issues to fill the three open slots. This recommendation resulted in a proposed consolidated board consisting of six current ADASBCC

members, nine current CCCMHB members, and three current CCCMHB members who agreed to advocate for alcohol and other drug addiction issues.

Amy Leopard and Eugenia Cash, the Co-Chairs of the CBMSC, presented the Committee's report and recommendation to their respective boards. The recommendation was

approved by both the ADASBCC and the CCCMHB during their September Board meetings.

The next step in the appointment process is for the Board of County Commissioners to pass a resolution to formally establish the consolidated board as of July 1, 2009, appoint 10 of the recommended 18 board members, and grant immediate provisional authority to the individuals who will serve as board members.

The remaining eight board members will be appointed by the other two appointing authorities—Ohio Department of Mental Health (four) and the Ohio Department of Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services (four).

Upcoming Blueprint Retreat

Input will continue to be sought from stakeholders in developing the Consolidation Blueprint, or master plan, to guide the transition between now and July 1, 2009.

Representatives from all constituents will be able to participate in the Blueprint Retreat on Friday, October 17, 2008, from 1:00-4:00 p.m. The place has yet to be determined, but will be announced.

The Alcohol & Drug Addiction Services Board of Cuyahoga County
The Cuyahoga County Community
Mental Health Board